Reviewing Training Programmes for Fleet Operators

The freight industry nowadays needs well-trained HGV drivers. HGV is an acronym that stands for heavy goods vehicle. Large goods vehicle, or LGV drivers, are trained as well. Under UK law, both LGV and HGV licenses are one and the same. Both cover commercial trucks that feature a gross combination mass of 3500+ kilograms. Therefore, these trucks may include box vans, Lutons, fridge trucks, and tippers.

Driver Training

The confusion between LGV and HGV comes into play when LGV is thought to stand for light goods vehicles. Therefore, no difference exists between LGV and HGV. However, HGV is often used in this respect. HGV drivers regularly undergo various driver training courses. Therefore, they must constantly stay on top of the educational programmes in their field. For example, courses may include the behavioural aspects of driving or safe urban driving.


Besides training for HGV drivers in Sunderland, courses may include accreditations for FORS (fleet operator recognition scheme) and CLOCS (construction logistic and community safety).

The FORS Endorsement

The FORS designation is an accreditation scheme for fleet operators, one that gives fleet operators valuable knowledge in certain areas. These areas include the following:

  • Safety
  • Fuel efficiency
  • Emissions
  • Economical operations

By taking this type of training, fleet operators perform better and learn compliance. Therefore, a FORS accreditation gives a fleet operator the assurance needed that he is meeting certain legislative mandates. By taking this type of coursework, a fleet operator can also show that his or her company practices standards of the highest quality.

The FORS scheme features three major goals:

  • To recognise and reward excellence
  • To raise the bar on standards
  • To provide the fleet operator with a better competitive advantage

This voluntary programme can be accessed by any company that operates a fleet of vehicles – vehicles that include vans, coaches, or lorries. Three distinct levels of accreditation are offered: bronze, silver, or gold. The bronze designation is the entry level endorsement for freight operators and is realised through an audit of processes, systems, and documents.

FORS Courses

FORS approved courses that are currently offered include the following:

  • Safe urban driving
  • Staying legal
  • Work-related road risks

For the CLOCs scheme, fleet operators need to make sure that all their drivers undergo FORS silver approved training – training that covers driving vulnerability and safety. To meet these specific requirements, drivers first undergo a FORS-approved safe urban driving course. This course needs to be taken every five years. Besides this course, drivers also undertake theoretical training as well as other required courses to keep on top of navigating the roadways.

As you can see, there is much more to driving a truck than driving from one place to the next. You also need to be an expert in driving safely and legally. Whether you are a fleet operator or driver, you need to keep current on the various training programmes.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *